Forum Message

We have moved the forum to https://forum.ngsolve.org . This is an archived version of the topics until 05/05/23. All the topics were moved to the new forum and conversations can be continued there. This forum is just kept as legacy to not invalidate old links. If you want to continue a conversation just look for the topic in the new forum.

Notice

The forum is in read only mode.

Boundary definitions and Dirichlet BCs on specific DOFs for vector valued funcs

More
4 years 8 months ago #1813 by anandes
Hello,

I'm new to Netgen/NGSolve. I'm trying to solve a few simple elasticity problems to start with. I have a few questions in this regard.

1. How do we define boundaries which are only a part of an edge in 2D or face in 3D (for example: not the entire bottom, top, etc. portion of the boundary)?
1a Can this be done in the Python interface based on the geometric location of the portion of the boundary surfaces where the Dirichlet BCs need to be imposed?
2. Is it possible to impose Dirichlet BCs at a specific node? If so, how is this done?
3. How do we impose Dirichlet BCs on a specific DOF of a given node?

Thank you,
Anand
More
4 years 8 months ago #1816 by christopher
Hi Anand,
1. you can split the boundary in the geometry into multiple parts, each using one segment and then defining the bc on the subpart of the edge.
2&3. Yes you can query the dirichlet dofs of a finite element space and set them to not free if they should be dirichlet dofs
Code:
freedofs = fes.FreeDofs() freedofs.Clear(dofnr)
You can iterate over the mesh topology, as a reference see here:

ngsolve.org/docu/latest/i-tutorials/unit...gy/meshtopology.html

and for example set all edge and vertex dofs of edges to dirichlet where both vertices have an x-coordinate smaller than 0:
Code: