Forum Message

We have moved the forum to https://forum.ngsolve.org . This is an archived version of the topics until 05/05/23. All the topics were moved to the new forum and conversations can be continued there. This forum is just kept as legacy to not invalidate old links. If you want to continue a conversation just look for the topic in the new forum.

Notice

The forum is in read only mode.

Help with Installing NGSolve on Supercomputer with Limited Permissions

More
4 years 6 months ago #1889 by Thauwa
Hello,

I am attempting to install your great software on a CentOS supercomputer. However, I have limited root/sudo/yum permissions, like most normal users on the framework. I would have to go through a big level of administrative stuff to get them to give me necessary permissions, or for them to install it for me, because I am just a PhD student.

Currently, I am lost trying to install NGSolve. I tried the following over several days:
1) install per instructions on: ngsolve.org/docu/latest/install/installlinux.html : failed due to lack of permissions needed to install dependencies. CMake fails.
2) tried to package it with all dependencies into a container using Singularity or Docker: failed because my machine is 32-bit and runs on Windows (I tried VirtualBox for a Virtual Linux VM, but still could not run Singularity). Docker won't even install because it needs a 64-bit machine.
3) tried to find luck with Spack: spack.readthedocs.io/en/latest/package_list.html#netgen : failed because it seemed to install only Netgen but not NGSolve. Is there a way for NGSolve to be put up there too? Or is it already there and I am missing something?

I would really appreciate any help/advice with installing NGSolve on the computer system. I am moving onto the next stage of my research project and need supercomputing power.
Thanks very much for your time.
More
4 years 6 months ago - 4 years 6 months ago #1890 by Thauwa
An update:

I saw the following forum posts: