Forum Message

We have moved the forum to https://forum.ngsolve.org . This is an archived version of the topics until 05/05/23. All the topics were moved to the new forum and conversations can be continued there. This forum is just kept as legacy to not invalidate old links. If you want to continue a conversation just look for the topic in the new forum.

Notice

The forum is in read only mode.

Help with Defining Bilinear Form using NGSolve

More
4 years 8 months ago #1827 by Thauwa
Hello,

I am relatively new to NGSolve and have been exploring its functionality using demos, etc. To apply all these methods via a problem of my own, I am attempting to numerically solve for the following variational problem (image attached because I could not figure how to enter LaTeX in here):

Above, I am solving for A and B, with test functions A_t and B_t respectively. j is the imaginary unit. c and d are constants. For i = 1 or 2, Q_i are constant vectors. F_i are constant vectors but acting on the boundary.

Although I made the coupled PDEs above by drawing from the terms in Maxwell's equations, the setup is unphysical. This is a toy model that I want to play with using different parameters and NGSolve features (to study numerical analysis).

However, because I am new to NGSolve, I am not sure whether my implementation below is correct for the two coupled PDEs. I simply added the two equations above and defined the bilinear form. Essentially, this forum post was made to ask for help in validating the way I implemented this toy model (sanity checks, obvious errors, etc):
Code: