Forum Message

We have moved the forum to https://forum.ngsolve.org . This is an archived version of the topics until 05/05/23. All the topics were moved to the new forum and conversations can be continued there. This forum is just kept as legacy to not invalidate old links. If you want to continue a conversation just look for the topic in the new forum.

Notice

The forum is in read only mode.

IfPos() too slow? Faster solution searched

More
4 years 9 months ago #1715 by mischl
Dear all,
First of all, I am pretty new to Python/NGSolve/Netgen so please apologise any newbie-error I do.

I have a Mesh, let's say the points
(0,0),E1=(0.25,0), E2=(0.75,0), (1,0), (1,1), and (0,1), I ordered them counterclockwise
I wanted to solve the Laplace-Equation on it with the following Dirichlet-boundary conditions:
d=disctance to the section E1E2

With some linear algebra I could write the code down with two IfPos. But it took ages to solve, very often it didn't work at all. Since I never had similar problems with solving the Laplace Equation or others, I assume it was the IfPos(IfPos())
Code:
d=IfPos((e2-e1)*(y-e1), IfPos((e1-e2)*(y-e2), (x*(-(e2-e1))+y*0)/(e2**2+e1**2)**0.5, (x**2-(y-e2)**2)**0.5), (x**2-(y-e1)**2)**0.5)
More
4 years 9 months ago - 4 years 9 months ago #1716 by christopher
Hi, could you attach the example so we can have a look at it.
My first attempt would be to compile the CoefficientFunction, this is described in the new i-tutorials (yet only available in the nightly part of the docu)
ngsolve.org/docu/nightly/i-tutorials/uni...-CoefficientFunction
Another speedup could be to use x*x and sqrt(x) instead of x**2 and x**0.5.
Last edit: 4 years 9 months ago by christopher.
More
4 years 9 months ago #1717 by mischl
Dear christopher,