Forum Message

We have moved the forum to https://forum.ngsolve.org . This is an archived version of the topics until 05/05/23. All the topics were moved to the new forum and conversations can be continued there. This forum is just kept as legacy to not invalidate old links. If you want to continue a conversation just look for the topic in the new forum.

Notice

The forum is in read only mode.

Creating CoefficientFunctions or GridFunctions Using Integration

More
4 years 11 months ago #1583 by kelley
Hello!

I am new to NGSolve and would like to follow up on a similar question .

I am solving a three dimensional problem and as part of my weak form, I need to implement a vector valued quantity that arises through integration of a coefficient function defined on the bottom of my domain. The integration is wrt z and the result should be a CoefficientFunction or a GridFunction defined on the whole domain.

To do this, I am trying to implement numerical integration myself and essentially create a CoefficientFunction holding the result (though I am not certain this is the most convenient way to do this either). Therefore I would need to create a CoefficientFunction or a GridFunction from a vector or array holding the values from the numerical integration.

My questions are:
  1. Is there a better way to do this numerical integration?
  2. How could I go about setting a GridFunction or CoefficientFunction containing the results if there is no better way?

Thanks in advance,
Josie
More
4 years 11 months ago - 4 years 11 months ago #1587 by christopher
Could you provide a short mathematical description of what you want to do? Maybe with a sketch or something? From what I would understand you can do something like:
Code: