Forum Message

We have moved the forum to https://forum.ngsolve.org . This is an archived version of the topics until 05/05/23. All the topics were moved to the new forum and conversations can be continued there. This forum is just kept as legacy to not invalidate old links. If you want to continue a conversation just look for the topic in the new forum.

Notice

The forum is in read only mode.

DG jumps over boundary faces in periodic square

More
3 years 2 months ago #3555 by pde
This is a question concerning the implementation of jump terms in DG methods for periodic problems (2D unit square with periodic boundary conditions). I am new to ngsolve and would appreciate any help. I am working in the space L2(mesh, order=choose_poly_degree, dgjumps=True), where I use the discretization

periodic = SplineGeometry()
pnums = [periodic.AppendPoint(*p) for p in [ (0,0), (1,0), (1,1), (0,1) ]]
lright = periodic.Append ( ["line", pnums[0], pnums[1]],bc="periodic")
btop = periodic.Append ( ["line", pnums[1], pnums[2]], bc="periodic")
periodic.Append ( ["line", pnums[3], pnums[2]], leftdomain=0, rightdomain=1, copy=lright, bc="periodic")
periodic.Append ( ["line", pnums[0], pnums[3]], leftdomain=0, rightdomain=1, copy=btop, bc="periodic")
mesh = Mesh(periodic.GenerateMesh(maxh=choose_discretization_size))

Say we would like to have a bilinear form a(u,v) containing the integral of jump(u)*jump(v) over all faces, where the jump for boundary faces is defined in a periodic way.

While jumps over interior faces can be implemented using jump(u)=u-u.Other(), it is not clear to me how to do this for boundary faces. Ideally, this would be something like u-u.Otherbdry() with .Otherbdry() now accessing the periodic neighbour of a boundary element, i.e., the element on the opposite side of the square sharing the same boundary face upon periodic identification. Many thanks in advance for suggestions.
More
3 years 1 month ago #3556 by cwinters
Hi,