Forum Message

We have moved the forum to https://forum.ngsolve.org . This is an archived version of the topics until 05/05/23. All the topics were moved to the new forum and conversations can be continued there. This forum is just kept as legacy to not invalidate old links. If you want to continue a conversation just look for the topic in the new forum.

Notice

The forum is in read only mode.

Problem imposing Dirichlet boundary conditions for unsteady Heat Equation

More
3 years 11 months ago #2580 by Luma
Hello NGSolve users!

I am pretty new to the software and my question might be caused by my inexperience, but even after doing the tutorials and watching the videos, i struggle to impose inhomogeneous Dirichlet boundary conditions on the example of unsteady heat equation (similar to 3.1):

I want to set a certain temperature at the bottom boundary of the unit square and i do so by setting gfu.Set(mytemperature, BND)
and embedding it into the load vector
rhs = f.vec.CreateVector()
rhs.data = f.vec - a.mat * gfu.vec ,
like shown in section 1.3 of the tutorials.

Using this new right hand side in the implicit Euler scheme given in 3.1
res.data = dt * rhs - dt * a.mat * gfu.vec
gfu.vec.data += invmstar * res
causes the solution to explode in the vicinity of the Dirichlet boundary.

(Another small issue: I am currently not able to use 'dx' for the definition of the bilinear and linear forms. Despite using version 6.2.1810 on python 3.7, the error states that dx is not defined. So i just used SymbolicBFI() instead)

Again, sorry if this is a obvious mistake, but im really stuck here.
I attached a python script containing the code that doesn't behave like i expect it to.

Thanks in advance for your supportnd kind regards!
Lukas
Attachments:
More
3 years 11 months ago - 3 years 11 months ago #2581 by hvwahl
Hi Lukas,